The Early Years Foundation Stage is a legal government document which outlines the regulations a nursery has to follow to ensure the safety, welfare and education of your child while attending nursery. We use the EYFS framework for all the children in the nursery. We understand that children develop at all different stages and have different learning styles. Practitioners set up activities to develop children’s learning in the seven areas of learning. The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is made up of 7 areas of learning and development. We use these areas when we are observing, assessing and planning for your child’s individual needs. The areas of learning and development make sure that we are constantly challenging your child and helping them to develop and succeed. We recognise that children are unique individuals who learn and develop at different times and in different ways. We encourage their holistic development by spending time getting to know them and building on what they can already do, helping them to reach their full potential. Our staff will plan EYFS nursery activities for your child to enjoy on their own or with other children both indoors and outdoors.

The 7 areas of learning are split into 2 parts. The 3 prime areas cover the knowledge and skills which are the foundations for children’s learning, and are reinforced by the 4 specific areas.

The EYFS profile consists of: –

Prime areas of learning

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

Specific areas of learning

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive area and design

Characteristics of effective learning

When your child is 2 years old:

At some point after your child turns 2, the childcare professionals working with your child will give you a written summary of how your child is progressing against the 3 prime areas of learning:

  • Communication and language;
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development.

This is called the progress check at age 2. This check will highlight areas where your child is progressing well and anywhere, they might need some extra help or support – and how parents/carers as well as other family members can work with the key worker to help. You might find it useful to share the information from the check with other professionals such as health visitors (who can use it as part of the health and development review).